AIHA Celebrates 20 Years

With friends, stakeholders, and industry partners in attendance, Alberta’s Industrial Heartland Association recently celebrated 20 years of municipal collaboration, investment and economic diversification in the Industrial Heartland.

AIHA Board Member representatives from the City of Fort Saskatchewan, Sturgeon County, Strathcona County, Lamont County, and the City of Edmonton were joined by Associate Member representatives from the Towns of Redwater, Bruderheim, and Gibbons to recognize this incredible achievement and toast to the next 20 years.

As we look back at our Association’s history, we reflect on all that the Association has achieved over those years and we are proud of the work we’ve done to attract investment, to drive energy diversification, and to promote innovative business solutions.

Twenty years ago, the municipalities of The City of Fort Saskatchewan, Lamont County, Strathcona and Sturgeon Counties recognized the opportunity afforded them by their unique location in the province. These visionary municipalities created a partnership dedicated to strengthening sustainable industrial development that benefits the residents and businesses in our municipalities.

With the addition of The City of Edmonton in 2010 and three Associate members – Bruderheim, Gibbons and Redwater in 2011, the Association continues to demonstrate the value of that cooperation. As a result, more than $40 billion in capital has been invested in the region, realizing significant returns to the economy of Alberta and to the communities in Alberta’s Industrial Heartland region. We are a globally recognized brand and a passionate advocate for thoughtful, smart, and meaningful policies to encourage investment in the region and in Canada.

Thank you to everyone who joined us to celebrate this remarkable achievement!