AIHA Welcomes New Chair

At its Annual General Meeting on September 13, 2019, Alberta’s Industrial Heartland Association (AIHA) saw the transfer of Chairpersonship from the City of Fort Saskatchewan to Sturgeon County.

The Mayor of Sturgeon County, Alanna Hnatiw, will serve as Chairperson of AIHA for two years replacing outgoing Chairperson, Mayor Gale Katchur of Fort Saskatchewan.  “For more than 20 years the AIHA Board has advanced investment and diversification in Alberta’s Industrial Heartland.  As Chair, I look forward to continuing that effort and to working closely with the Board of Directors to ensure our region is sustainable, beneficial, innovative, and responsible.”

The AIHA Board meets four times yearly to address the strategic needs of AIHA.  Sturgeon County will hold Chairpersonship until 2021 wherein it will pass to Strathcona County.

“I would like to thank Mayor Gale Katchur for her leadership over the past two years and I welcome Mayor Hnatiw to the Chairpersonship. I look forward to working with her and the entire Board to advance our mandate. We believe the Industrial Heartland is well-positioned to capture more than $30 billion in new investment in value-add energy processing by 2030, and we are encouraged by the market interest demonstrated by foreign investors and regional players,” says Mark Plamondon, Executive Director of Alberta’s Industrial Heartland Association.

The Industrial Heartland region is considered a world-class location for petrochemical, manufacturing, oil and gas investment and is also Canada’s largest hydrocarbon processing region. It is a powerful economic driver for Alberta and Canada and offers attractive competitive advantages in energy diversification and industrial development.

Alberta’s Industrial Heartland Association is dedicated to coordinating, advocating, and promoting sustainable industrial development in the Heartland region. The Association is a cooperative effort of Lamont County, Strathcona County, Sturgeon County, and the Cities of Edmonton and Fort Saskatchewan.