Lamont County

p2_image9.0_sign_lamontRepresentative on our Board of Directors: Reeve Wayne Woldanski

Lamont County is situated 62 km (38 miles) northeast of the province’s capital city, Edmonton.

Lamont County is a rich agricultural district that has a specific land area designated for industrial use as part of Alberta’s Industrial Heartland. Twenty seven townships make up Lamont County, spanning an area of 2,474 square kilometers (955 square miles). Combining the towns, villages, hamlets, and countryside, over 8,500 people reside in Lamont County.

The county’s economic strength is based on three major sectors: agriculture, tourism, and industrial development. The agriculture industry flourished in the 1880s with the first settlers and has been thriving since. Tourism draws upon the diversity of cultural, religious, and environmental attractions, offering sites such as the Ukranian Cultural Heritage Village and Elk Island National Park. Industrial development also continues to play a major role, with land zoned for heavy, medium and light manufacturing and commercial use available just off highway 15 (20 km or 12 miles east of Fort Saskatchewan). In total, 65 heavy, light and commercial, in addition to 70 home-based businesses operate in the county.

Residents in Lamont County enjoy the benefits of rural living with relatively close proximity to major urban centres. Citizens have access to five schools, a hospital and health care centre, and opportunities to become involved in a variety of community organizations, clubs, and societies. The county has declared itself the “Church Capital of North America”, as it is home to 47 churches – more per capita than anywhere else in North America.

Lamont County offers an extraordinary place to call home, boasting rural beauty and cultural attractions with easy access to city amenities.